Chailly conducts Mendelssohn

Chailly conducts Mendelssohn

Riccardo Chailly’s inaugural concert as Kapellmeister of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra
capturing the full atmosphere of a unique musical occasion is a feast of Mendelssohn from
the orchestra the composer founded. The concert includes an overwhelming performance
of Mendelssohn’s Second Symphony “Lobgesang” with its celebratory choral last
movement in a new edition, as well as the ever-popular overture “A Midsummer Night’s
Dream” with outstanding vocal soloists including Anne Schwanewilms and Peter Seiffert.
The Gewandhaus Orchestra can look back with pride today at a history of over 250 years.
It has meanwhile made music history and evolved into one of the world’s best-known and
most renowned orchestras


  • /

  • Anne Schwanewilms — Petra-M. Schnitzer — Peter Seifert Choir of the Gewandhaus and the Opera Leipzig

  • Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra

  • Riccardo Chailly

  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Symphony No.2 “Lobgesang”; Psalm 114, op.51; Concert Overture of Midsummernight’s dream op.21

  • Mendelssohn

  • 01:33:35

  • Gewandhaus, Leipzig